Chocolate Chip Cookie in a Jar

thehappierhomemaker.com recipe

IMG_4434.JPG

Don’t know what to get your mother-in-law, grandma, or teacher?! These are spectacular holiday or birthday gifts! I made two of these for my “in-laws” (my boyfriend’s parents and grandparents) and assisted my boyfriend in making these for my parents and grandparents. Both of us had a blast making them, and it didn’t take long. The receivers of the gifts loved the thought put into them and the idea behind them.

You will need:
-1 quart size Mason jar
-1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
-3/4 tsp. baking soda
-3/4 tsp. salt
-3/4 cup packed brown sugar
-1/2 cup granulated sugar
-1 1/2 cup chocolate chips

First, stir the flour, baking soda, and salt into a large mixing bowl.

IMG_4430.JPG

Next, put that mixture into the jar. You may pour it in using a funnel, or if you’re daring, without one. Otherwise scoop it into the jar spoonful by spoonful (which is what we did, and it spilled the least).

IMG_4431.JPG

All the ingredients won’t fit unless they’re packed down. And I mean REALLY packed down. The first two I made didn’t fit all the chocolate chips in them, but I had it all figured out by the last two! Don’t worry, the people baking the cookies won’t notice the difference of a few chocolate chips, but pack it down as best as you can. The blog I found this on suggested using a spoon to pack it down, but I found that using an ice cream scoop worked best because of the flatter bottom.

IMG_4432.JPG

Now, add in the brown sugar using the previous steps. Next comes the granulated sugar using the same steps as the first two ingredients. Finally, use a spoon to put the chocolate chips in, but no need to pack these down. They should all fit if the other ingredients were packed down well enough!

The blog if found this amazing idea on had a printout for the directions that are to be attached. If you wish to have those, the link is above. Personally, I like copying the directions onto a card. This way, it is more personal. Here are the directions to go along with the dry ingredients in the jar:
Preheat the oven to 375. Beat 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) softened butter or margarine, 1 large egg, and 3/4 tsp. vanilla extract in a large bowl until blended. Add cookie mix; mix well, breaking up any clumps. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto non-greased baking sheets. Bake for 9-11 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on baking sheets for two minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely. Makes about 2 dozen. Enjoy!

Let me know what people think of them 🙂

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookie in a Jar

  1. They were too thin. Gave them as gifts and that is what every one has said.
    Possibly a half a stick too much of butter?
    Not enough baking soda?
    Calls for half a cup more chocolate chips than my chocolate chip recipe.
    Don’t know why every one had said they’re too thin.
    Just an FYI
    Thanks

    Like

    1. Thank you for your input. It is greatly appreciated. I would have to agree that they didn’t turn out as anticipated. They tasted good when I made them, but were definitely not the best cookies I have ever had. I wrote this post prior to making the cookies. I will work on tweaking the recipe. I am sorry for the inconvenience and hope your holidays were merry and bright!

      Like

Leave a Reply

